The Constitution of Kuwait consists of 183 articles divided into five chapters; the State and the System of Government (I), Fundamental Constituents of Kuwaiti Society (II), Public Rights and Duties (III); Powers (IV), General and Transitional Provisions

The Constitution framed the method of governance in a more modern way that embodies the deep-rooted relationship between the people of Kuwait and its leadership. Its content and fundamental components affirm adherence to the principles of justice, freedom, equality, and equal opportunity among its citizens.

Kuwait Constitution went through a labor phase before it was approved, as a Constituent Assembly was elected to draft a constitution for the state in January 1962. The late Abdul Latif Thunayan Al-Ghanim was elected the Speaker of the Constituent Assembly, while Dr. Ahmad Al-Khatib was elected Vice-President. The first task undertook by the Constituent Assembly was to form a committee consisting of five members to prepare the draft constitution who included:

1- The late Abdul Latif Thunayan Al-Ghanim, the Speaker of the Constituent Assembly.

2- His Highness the late Father Amir Sheikh Saad Al-Abdullah Al-Salem Al-Sabah, who was the Minister of Interior.

3- Head of the committee, the late Hamoud Al-Zaid Al-Khaled, who was the Minister of Justice.

4- The late Yacoub Yousef Al-Humaidhi, Secretary of the Committee.

5- The late Saud Abdulaziz Al-Abdulrazzaq