529 B.C. : Al–Monther Bin Ma Al-Sama defeated Ali Harith Al–Kandi in Wara, Kuwait.
  300 B.C. : The Greeks colonised Failka Island and lived there for over two hundred years.
  630 A.D. : The battle of 'That Alslasil' took place in the area of Kathma. Arab Muslims, under the leadership of Khaled Bin Al-Waleed, defeated the Persians, led by Hermiz.
  1711 : The Al- Sabah family arrived in Kuwait.
  1713 -
1716 :
Kuwait City was established and was known as "Al Qurain" - a short form of "qarn", which means 'hill' or 'raised area'.
  1752 : Kuwait was established as an emirate by the Al-Sabah Family, and Sheikh Sabah was chosen to be the first ruler of Kuwait.
  1760 : A fortified wall was erected to protect Kuwait City from invasion.
  1761 : Sheikh Abdullah The First begins his reign (1762- 1812).
  1765 : Kuwait’s first census was conducted and estimated that 10,000 people were living in Kuwait.
  1783 : Kuwait emerged victorious from the "Rigga" naval battle.
  1812 : Sheikh Jaber Abdullah Bin Sabah (1812-1859) became Kuwait’s third ruler. He was so famed for his generosity that he was called "Jaber Al-Aish".
  1814 : A second defensive wall was constructed.
  1831 : The plague spread throughout Kuwait in June.
  1859 : Sheikh Sabah Bin Jaber (1859-1866) became ruler of Kuwait.
  1866 : The reign of Sheikh Abdullah Bin Sabah (1866-1892) began.
      Kuwait’s first currency was issued but quickly fell into disuse.
  1871 : Many Kuwaiti ships used for pearl-diving sank during a devastating hurricane off the coast of India and Oman. 1871 therefore became known as "Attab'ah".
  1892 : Sheikh Mohammad Al-Sabeh began his reign which lasted just three years.
  1896 : Sheikh Mubarak Al-Sabah, known also as Mubarak the Great became ruler. His reign continued until 1915.
  1899 : Kuwait signed an agreement with the British government and became a British protectorate on January 23rd.
      Kuwait's first department was established - the Department of Customs and Excise.
  1910 : The country’s first medical centre was established at the American Mission.
  1911 : Mubarakia School was opened on December 22nd.
  1912 : The telegraph came to Kuwait.
      1912 is also known as 'Al ttafha' because of the unprecedented number of ships during that year.
  1913 : Turkey recognized Kuwait as an independent country.
      The first official map of Kuwait was drawn up.
      The first geological survey was conducted in Kuwait.
      Kuwait's first hospital was built.
  1914 : Kuwait’s first flag was flown – it was red with 'Kuwait' written in white in the middle.
      The country held its first conference – the Sbihia Conference.
  1916 : Sheikh Jaber Bin Mubarak the 2nd became ruler but his reign lasted only a year.
  1917 : Sheikh Salem Al-Sabah ruled Kuwait until 1921.
  1920 : Al Jahra Battle, October 1920.
  1921 : Sheikh Ahmad Bin Jaber the 2nd became ruler.
      A third wall was built as fortification around Kuwait City.
      "Ahmadia School" was founded.
      The first "Shura" council was established.
  1922 : Kuwait's first public library - "The National Library" - was founded.
      "Al-Aqeer Treaty" was signed establishing set borders between Kuwait, Iraq and Saudi Arabia.
  1924 : The Kuwait Literature Club was founded on April 30th.
  1927 : The country’s first airport was built, behind "Sha’eb" gate.
  1928 : "Kuwait Magazine", the country’s first periodical was published.
  1930 : The Kuwait Municipality was established.
  1934 : Sheikh Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah granted "Kuwait Oil Company" an oil drilling concession.
      1934 is also known as " haddama year " due to the devastation wreaked by the heavy rains of 7th December which washed away many houses.
      The National Electricity Company was established.
      The first elections for the Municipal Council were held.
  1936 : The Department of Education was formed.
  1937 : Drilling started at the first oil well, in Bahra.
      The Department for Public Security was established.
  1938 : Initial drilling in the Burgan oil field indicated the presence of large quantities of oil, but before production could start in earnest, work had to be stopped due to the outbreak of the Second World War in 1939.
      The 2nd legislative council was formed and elected Sheikh Abdullah Al Salem Al Sabah as its president.
  1939 : Kuwait Water Company was established. The company used boats to transport and distribute water.
  1941 : The possibility of using saline as a water resource was explored.
  1942 : Water was discovered in Abdili.
  1946 : Kuwait's first marine shipping line was established.
  1949 : The West Marine Harbour was opened with a capacity for eight ships.
  1950 : Sheikh Abdullah Al-Salem Al-Sabah came to power in February. He ruled for fifteen years.
  1951 : Kuwait Radio was launched at the beginning of the year.
  1952 : Kuwait’s first club – the "Ahli Club" was founded.
  1953 : The country’s first water refining plant was built.
      Agricultural research began.
  1954 : Kuwait Airways was established in March.
      "Kuwait Today" - the first official newspaper was published on 21st December.
  1955 : Oil was discovered in Rawdatain field.
  1956 : Kuwait City’s defensive walls were demolished, but the gates remained.
  1957 : The first official census of Kuwait was carried out.
  1958 : The first issue of "Al Arabi" magazine was published in December.
  1959 : 'Kathma' Kuwait's first oil tank arrived in Ahmadi Port, and the north quay was opened.
  1960 : Shuwaikh Port was established.
  1961 : 1899 treaty with Britain was cancelled and Kuwait declared its independence.
      Kuwait joined the Arab League on July 20th.
      A series of legislation controlling all aspects of life in Kuwait were issued on August 26th.
      Kuwait’s new national flag was raised.
      The National Petroleum Company was established.
      The Kuwait Fund for Arab Economic Development was established on December 31st.
  1962 : Kuwait's constitution was issued on November 11th. It set out 3 main principles for the ruling of Kuwait:
  • Kuwait is an Arab country and enjoys full sovereignty.
  • The ruling system is democratic.
  • Sovereignty lies with the nation – the source of authority.
  1963 : An Amiri decree was issued. It stated that Kuwait would be divided into 3 constituencies.
      The First National Assembly was inaugurated.
      Kuwait joined the United Nations on 15th May and became member No. 111.
  1966 : The University of Kuwait was officially opened.
  1968 : Kuwait signed the establishment of the Organization of Arab Oil Producing Countries (OAPEC).


[ Back to Top Kuwait in History Home Page ]