Political Organization

Amir of the State of Kuwait

H. H. Sheikh Sabah Al Ahmed Al Jaber Al Sabah

Crown Prince of the State of Kuwait

H.H. Sheikh Nawwaf Al Ahmed Al Jaber Al Sabah

Prime Minister

H. H. Sheikh Jaber Al-Mubarak Al-Hamad Al Sabah


The constitution is the main law of the State. It determines the basis of organization of the society and government and it organizes the formation and activities authorities and the rights and obligations of the citizens.

The constitution of the State of Kuwait includes (183) articles and an explanatory memorandum. These articles had been divided into five main chapters, as follows:

Ministerial Cabinet

The executive authority lies in the hands of the Amir. It is represented by the ministers who form the ministerial cabinet. This cabinet is formed of 15 – 16 ministers. The Amir assigns the cabinet upon the request of the Prime Minister.

National Assembly

The National Assembly is formed of fifty members who are voted by means of direct and general secret ballot in accordance with the provisions of the election law. The ministers, who had not been elected along with the members of the National Assembly, are considered as members of the same due to the nature of their functions. No law may be passed except if approved of by the National Assembly and signed by the Amir.

The term of the National Assembly is four years, starting the date of its first meeting. Renewal is executed within sixty days prior the expiration of the said term.

عربي French