Facts and Figures

The capital

Kuwait City


The State of Kuwait is found on the north eastern shore of the Arabian Peninsula. It is bordered by the Persian Gulf from the east, Iraq from the north and west and the KSA from the south.

The area of the State of Kuwait is of 17.818 thousand square kilometers. The length of the coastal line along with the islands, reaches approximately 500 kilometers. The Gulf of Kuwait is considered one of the main coastal attractions.

The State of Kuwait includes nine islands, which are:
Bubyan, Failaka, Miskan, Kubbar, Qaruh, Um Al Maradim, Um Al Naml, and Auhah Island.

Administrative Distribution

The State of Kuwait is distributed into six governorates, which are the Capital, Hawalli, Al Farwaniya, Al Ahmedi, Mubarak Al Kabir and Al Jahra.


Since Kuwait is located in a desert region, the climate is continental distinguished by long hot dry summers and warm short winters with occasional rainfall. Sandstorms often occur during the summer months.


The population up until 30/June/2007 reached approximately 3,328,136. 1,038,598 of which are Kuwaiti nationals the rest are expatriates and foreigners.

Religion and Language

The official religion of the State is Islam, with believers of other religions having their full rights to practice their religion, provided that they do not disrespect or harm Islam; the official language is the Arabic.


The Kuwaiti Flag was raised for the first time following the independence of Kuwait on 24 November 1961. It includes a rectangle which is divided into three equal and horizontal sections, the first of which being green, followed by the white and then red colors. The flag holds a trapezium of black color. The colors were inspired from the following verse of Arabic poetry:

White are our actions

Black are our wars

Green are our fields Red is our past


Coat of Arms of Kuwait

The Coat of Arms consists of the shield of the flag design in color superimposed on a falcon with wings displayed. The falcon supports a disk containing a sailing ship (dhow) with the full name of the State written (in Arabic) at the top of the disk.

National Anthem 

The National Anthem was first recited on 25 February 1978 and it is still recited today. The idea of having a national anthem was that of the ministerial cabinet, that was headed by the late Sheikh Jaber Al Ahmed Al Sabah, when he was a crown prince and prime minister during the reign of the late Sheikh Sabah Al Salem Al Sabah, the ruler of Kuwait at the time.


The currency in the State of Kuwait is the Kuwaiti Dinar.

Local Time

+3 hours from GMT.

Telephone Code


عربي French