Speeches



The Speech by His Highness Sheikh Sabah Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah in the
Thirty-Seventh Session of the Supreme Council of the Gulf Cooperation Council for the Arab Gulf Countries, Manama, Kingdom of Bahrain,
Tuesday, December 6th 2016.

 


In The Name of Allah


Praise to Allah and peace and prayers be upon our prophet Mohammed, his family and companions,

Your Majesty King Hamad bin Isa Al Khalifa the King of Bahrain,,,
Your Majesties and Highnesses,,,
Your Excellency the Secretary General of the Gulf Cooperation Council, Abdul Latif Rashid Al Zayani,,,

Alsalamu Alaikom Warahmatu Allah,,,

I would like in the beginning of my speech to ask God to grant his mercy and forgiveness on the soul of the late Amir of Qatar Sheikh Khalifa bin Hamad Al-Thani, recalling his leading role in the founding and sponsoring of the march of the Cooperation Council for the Arab Gulf States.
I am pleased to extend my sincere thanks and appreciation to His Majesty King Hamad bin Isa Al Khalifa, and to the Government and people of the Kingdom of Bahrain for the generous hospitality we received and the unique preparation for this meeting. And I am confident that Bahrain's presidency of the works of our session will be a good addition to our blessed march.

I am also pleased to extend my sincere thanks to my brother, the Custodian of the Two Holy Mosques, King Salman bin Abdulaziz Al- Saud, King of Saudi Arabia for his sincere efforts and fine endeavors during the period he presided over our previous session, that contributed to the promotion of our joint work and implementation of the decisions that we have reached.

Your Majesties and Highnesses,

Our blessed meeting in this beautiful capital is taking place under the rapid international changes and difficult conditions which requires continuous consultation and joint coordination for the study of its dimensions and be able to fortify our countries and avoid its consequences.
The march of our GCC joint work and its achievements, through which we were able to achieve hopes and aspirations of the people of the GCC countries to reach the Gulf citizenship, and to achieve the strategic and economic benefits of it, requires us searching all means to enhance this march and increase cohesion among the people of the GCC countries.

Proudly I recall the vision of the Custodian of the Tow Holly Mosques to the march of the Council, and what have been accomplished of the Authority of Economic and Development Affairs which will reflects that vision.

Your Majesties and Highnesses,

A closer look at the current situation in the region clearly confirms our confrontation to serious challenges and risks.

On the economic level, we all suffer from the decline in oil prices, the resulting disruption in our budgets, and negative impacts on our societies which require us to review many of the fundamentals and policies at the level of our homelands, as it requires us, on the level of our worldwide relations, to find areas of cooperation that serve the higher interests of our countries, and contribute to enable us to achieve sustainable development desired for our homelands.

As part of our conversation about the challenges, we all face the threat of terrorism targeting not only our security and stability, and the safety of our children, but also the security and stability of the whole world, which requires us to increase our collective action to confront it, and to continue our efforts with our allies to deter it.

Your Majesties & Highnesses,

For more than three months my country has hosted the Yemeni conflicting parties consultations. We made strenuous efforts to assist them in reaching a consensus to lead them to a political solution that preserves Yemen entity and unity of its territory and protect the blood of her sons. Unfortunately this did not happen, and the bloodshed continued. We announce our support for the efforts of the UN Envoy Ismail Ould Sheikh Ahmed and we reaffirm our strong condemnation to the Houthi Group and Ali Abdullah Saleh in targeting Mecca.

About the situation in Syria, we feel the pain for the continuous suffering of the Syrian people, affirming our support to the efforts to reach a political solution to protect the Syrian people's blood, and to preserve the entity and the integrity of their homeland.

In Iraq, we express our satisfaction and support for the reached progress in facing what is called Daesh, the Terrorist Organization, wishing to these achievements to be topped with achieving the national reconciliation, to involve all the segments of the Iraqi people to determine the future of their country.

On the Palestinian issue, we feel sorry for the stalemate that surrounds the efforts which aimed at achieving peace in the Middle East, because of Israel's practices while the is world preoccupied with other issues. We reiterate our call to the international community of the necessity of carrying out its responsibilities to pressure Israel to get it to agree on peace and establish independent Palestinian State with Jerusalem as a capital.

About the relationship with Iran, at the time, we recognize the importance of establishing a constructive dialogue between our countries and the Islamic Republic of Iran, and for the success and the continuity of this dialogue we underline that it should be based on the principles of international law governing relations among nations, which provides for the respect of state sovereignty, good neighboring and noninterference in internal affairs.

In conclusion,

We have an agenda full with relevant topics related to our blessed work. I hope that we succeed in supporting and promoting it. Again my thanks to all of you , and my thanks to His Excellency the Secretary General of the Cooperation Council for the Arab Gulf States and the General Secretariat for their efforts, wishing to the work of our summit all the success.

Wa Al-Salam Alaikom Wa Rahmatu ALLAH Wa Barakatu,

 

عربي French

نص كلمة حضرة صاحب السمو أمير البلاد الشيخ صباح الأحمد الجابر الصباح حفظه الله ورعاه أمام الدورة السابعة والثلاثين للمجلس الأعلى لمجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية – العاصمة البحرينية المنامة - يوم الثلاثاء الموافق 6 ديسمبر 2016 م.



بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم


الحمد لله رب العالمين والصلاة والسلام على نبينا محمد وعلى آله وصحبه أجمعين،،،
جلالة الملك حمد بن عيسى آل خليفة ملك مملكة البحرين الشقيقة،،،
أصحاب الجلالة والسمو،،،
معالي الأمين العام لمجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية د. عبداللطيف راشد الزياني،،،
أصحاب المعالي والسعادة،،،

السلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته،،،

أود في بداية كلمتي أن أتوجه إلى الباري عز وجل بأن يتغمد الفقيد الراحل الشيخ خليفة بن حمد آل ثاني الأمير الوالد لدولة قطر الشقيقة بواسع رحمته وعظيم غفرانه، مستذكرا دوره البارز في تأسيس مسيرة مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية، ورعايته لتلك المسيرة.

ويسرني أن أتقدم بخالص الشكر والتقدير لأخي جلالة الملك حمد بن عيسى آل خليفة، وإلى حكومة وشعب مملكة البحرين الشقيقة، على ما لمسناه من حفاوة وكرم ضيافة، وإعداد متميز لهذا اللقاء، وإنني لعلى يقين بأن ترؤس مملكة البحرين الشقيقة لأعمال دورتنا سيشكل إضافة إلى مسيرتنا المباركة.

كما يسرني أن أتقدم بخالص الشكر لأخي خادم الحرمين الشريفين الملك سلمان بن عبدالعزيز آل سعود ملك المملكة العربية السعودية الشقيقة، على ما بذله من جهود مخلصة ومساع خيرة خلال فترة ترؤس المملكة الشقيقة لأعمال دورتنا الماضية، ساهمت في تعزيز عملنا المشترك وتنفيذ ما توصلنا إليه من قرارات.

أصحاب الجلالة والسمو،،،

يأتي انعقاد اجتماعنا المبارك في هذه العاصمة الجميلة في ظل متغيرات دولية متسارعة وأوضاع صعبة، تتطلب تشاوراً مستمراً، وتنسيقاً مشتركاً، لدراسة أبعادها، وتجنب تبعاتها، لنتمكن من تحصين دولنا من تبعاتها.
إن مسيرة عملنا الخليجي المشترك، وما تحقق في إطارها من إنجازات، استطعنا معها تلبية آمال وتطلعات أبناء دول المجلس في الوصول إلى المواطنة الخليجية، وتحقيق المنافع الاستراتيجية والاقتصادية لدول المجلس، وهي إنجازات مطالبون معها في البحث في كل ما يعزز هذه المسيرة، و يضاعف من اللحمة بين أبناء دول المجلس.

ولعلي هنا أستذكر باعتزاز رؤية خادم الحرمين الشريفين لمسيرة المجلس، وما تم التوصل إليه في إطارها من إنشاء لهيئة الشؤون الاقتصادية والتنموية التي ستتولى تجسيد تلك الرؤية.

أصحاب الجلالة والسمو،،،

إن نظرة فاحصة للأوضاع التي تمر بها منطقتنا، تؤكد وبوضوح إننا نواجه تحديات جسيمة، ومخاطر محدقة.

فعلى المستوى الاقتصادي... نعاني جميعاً من تحدي انخفاض أسعار النفط، وما أدى إليه من اختلالات في موازنتنا، وتأثيرات سلبية على مجتمعاتنا، تتطلب منا مراجعة للعديد من الأسس والسياسات على مستوى أوطاننا، كما يتطلب منا أيضاً على مستوى علاقاتنا بالعالم البحث عن مجالات للتعاون تحقق المصالح العليا لدولنا، وتسهم في تمكيننا من تحقيق التنمية المستدامة المنشودة لأوطاننا.

وفي إطار حديثنا عن التحديات... فإننا نواجه جميعاً تحدي الإرهاب الذي يستهدف أمننا واستقرارنا، وسلامة أبنائنا، بل وأمن واستقرار العالم بأسره، الأمر الذي يتطلب منا مضاعفة عملنا الجماعي لمواجهته، ومواصلة مساعينا مع حلفائنا لردعه.

أصحاب الجلالة والسمو،،،

لقد استضــافت بـــلادي على مدى أكثر من ثلاثة أشهر مشاورات الأطراف اليمنية المتنازعة، وبذلنا جهوداً مضنية لمساعدتهم في الوصول إلى توافق يقود إلى حل سياسي يحفظ لليمـــن كيــانه ووحدة ترابه، ويحقن دمـــاء أبنائه، ولكن وبكل الأسف ذلك لم يتحقق، واستمر الصراع الدامي الذي نعلن معه دعمنا لجهود المبعوث الأممي إسماعيل ولد الشيخ أحمد، ونؤكد مجدداً إدانتنا الشديدة باستهداف جماعة الحوثي وعلي عبدالله صالح لمكة المكرمة.

وحول الوضع في سوريـــا.... فإننا نشعر بالألم لاستمرار معاناة أبناء الشعب السوري الشقيق، مؤكدين دعمنا للجهود الهادفة للوصول إلى حل سياسي، يحقن دماء أبناء الشعب السوري، و يحفظ كيان ووحدة تراب وطنهم.

وفي العراق.... نعرب عن ارتياحنا ودعمنا لما تحقق من تقدم في مواجهة ما يسمى تنظيم داعش الإرهــــابي، متطلعين أن تتحصن تلك الإنجـــازات بتحقيـــق المصـــالحة الوطنيـــة، وإشراك كافة أطياف الشعب العراقي في تقرير مستقبل بلاده.

وحول القضية الفلسطينية.... نشعر بالأسف للجمود الذي يحيط بالجهود الهادفة إلى تحقيق الســـلام في الشرق الأوسط، بسبب ممـــارسات إسرائيل، وانشغـــــال العالم بقضايا أخرى، ونؤكد مجددا دعوتنا للمجتمع الدولي بضرورة القيام بمسؤولياته بالضغط على إسرائيل لحملها على القبول بالسلام، و بإقامة الدولة الفلسطينية المستقلة وعاصمتها القدس.

وحول العلاقة مع إيران.... فإننا في الوقت الذي ندرك فيه أهمية إقامة حوار بناء بين دولنا والجمهورية الإسلامية الإيرانية، نؤكد أن هذا الحوار يتطلب لنجاحه واستمراره أن يرتكز على مبادئ القانون الدولي المنظمة للعلاقات بين الدول، والتي تنص على احترام سيادة الدول، وحسن الجوار، وعدم التدخل في الشؤون الداخلية.

وفي الختام،،،

فإن أمامنا جدول أعمال حافلاً بموضوعات تتصل بمسيرة عملنا المباركة، أرجو أن نوفق في دعمها وتعزيزها، مجدداً الشكر لكم جميعاً، كما أشكر معالي الأمين العام لمجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية وجهاز الأمانة العامة على ما بذلوه من جهود، متمنيا لأعمال قمتنا كل التوفيق والسداد.

والسلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته،،،



English French