Speeches



The speech of H.H. the Amir Sheikh Sabah Al Ahmad Al Jabir Al Sabah at the opening session of the Fourth Conference for Donors to Support Syria and the region, United Kingdom – Thursday Feb 4th 2016

 

In the Name of Allah the Merciful

 

Peace, mercy and blessing of Allah be upon you,
Your Majesties, Excellencies, and Highnesses,
Your Excellency Mr. David Cameron, The Prime Minister of The United Kingdom.
Your Excellency Ms. Angela Merkel, Chancellor of Federal Republic of Germany.
Your Excellency Ms. Aarana Solberg, The Prime Minister of The Kingdom of Norway.
Your Excellencies,,
Your Excellency Mr. Ban Ki-moon, The Secretary General of The United Nations.
Your Excellencies,,
Ladies and Gentlemen,,

I am Pleased to extend my sincere thanks and appreciation to His Excellency friend David Cameron, The Prime Minister, and to the Government and People of The United Kingdom for the hospitality we have received since our arrival to this ancient capitol, and the well preparation and hosting of this important conference.

I also thank Her Excellency friend Angela Merkel, Chancellor of the Federal Republic of Germany, and Her Excellency friend Arana Solberg the Prime Minister of The Kingdom of Norway for participation in the presidency of this important event, and for their outstanding efforts in the preparation of it, such efforts reflects their understanding and awareness of the humanitarian suffering of the Syrian people and to respond to put an end to it.

Your Majesties, Excellencies, and Highnesses,,

This fourth Donor Conference was held to complete the three previous conferences hosted by Kuwait over the past three years to help Syria and the region. During which was able to collect pledges exceeded seven billion and three hundred million dollars, which the State of Kuwait paid one billion and three hundred million dollars to secure the required needs to alleviate the suffering of the Syrian people, who faces the biggest humanitarian disaster in the modern world as it enters its sixth year.

The impact of this devastating disaster was not limited to our region, which is currently suffering from its consequences, but exceeded to reach other continents including Europe that the refugees fled in large numbers to seek security and decent life, which also the terrorist organization (which burst from the areas of tension) moved to it practice its criminal acts in some of European countries.

Your Majesties, Excellencies, and Highnesses..

What we have seen recently of large numbers of migration reflects the size of their suffering and double the size of the crisis that our brothers are experiencing. I record here to these countries all the praise and appreciation for what they offer from generous services for refugees, and also I pay tribute to the estimated efforts of the United Nations and its international agencies in this regard.

Your Majesties, Excellencies,, and Highnesses..

We emphasize here what we already mentioned, that this human tragedy will not end until the intervention of political solution which prevents the bloodshed, and restore stability to our world. The issuance of UN Council resolution No. 2254 is the glimmer of hope for all of us to restore the unity of the Security Council in order to face this disaster and end it, in which we hope to reach a political solution to put an end to the suffering of the whole people and save the world from its devastating consequences. In this regard, we look forward that the Geneva meetings which is sponsored by the United Nations and represented by an envoy of the Secretary General Mr. De Mastura will achieve the desired results. And now, we are facing this painful tragic situation experienced by the Syrian people, we appeal from this stand to the international community to continue provide generous assistance to the Syrian people to alleviate their humanitarian suffering to overcome the painful circumstances they are facing.

We are required to think of a new philosophy to provide support and assistance to the emigrants and refugees through the adoption of programs and plans to provide them with opportunities and for education and ensure children’s right to education, and to raise the level of their education so they can bear the burdens of life which help them to plan their future and to avoid illiteracy and ignorance, and to immunize their minds from any destructive thoughts. In the health sector, we must adopt the programs concerned in providing them with adequate health services, immunize them from diseases and epidemics and provide their patients with necessary treatments.

It is also necessary to provide them with jobs opportunities to prevent them from the consequences of unemployment and the risk of drifting in works that threats their future. We must emphasize here that these programs should be implemented according to specific time of periods to ensure its continuity and to achieve the desired goals.

I am pleased to day to announce the contribution of the State of Kuwait on the private and official levels of three hundred million dollars over three years to support Syria, hoping that we can achieve the desired goals and help our brothers and heal their wounds.

In conclusion,

I can only repeat my thanks to all of you and to His Excellency the Secretary General of the United Nations and his assistance, praying to God to enable us to put an end to the bloodshed and achieve the legitimate hopes and aspirations of the Syrian people and to restore security and stability to their homeland.

 

عربي French

نـص كلمة حضرة صاحب السمو امير البلاد الشيخ صباح الأحمد الجابر الصباح في الجلسة الافتتاحية للمؤتمر الرابع للمانحين لمساعدة سوريا والمنطقة – المملكة المتحدة – يوم الخميس الموافق 4 فبراير 2016 م



بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم


السلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته،،،
أصحاب الجلالة والفخامة والسمو،،،
معالي رئيس وزراء المملكة المتحدة الصديقة السيد/ ديفيد كاميرون،،،
معالي مستشارة جمهورية ألمانيا الاتحادية الصديقة السيدة/ أنجيلا ميركل،،،
معالي رئيسة وزراء مملكة النرويج الصديقة السيدة/ إيرانا سولبرغ،،،
أصحاب المعالي،،،
معالي الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة السيد/ بان كي مون،،،
أصحاب السعادة،،،
السيدات والسادة،،،

يسرني بداية أن أتقدم بخالص الشكر والتقدير إلى معالي الصديق ديفيد كاميرون رئيس الوزراء وإلى حكومة وشعب المملكة المتحدة الصديقة على ما لقيناه منذ وصولنا إلى هذه العاصمة العريقة من حسن وفادة وإعداد متميز لهذا المؤتمر الهام وعلى إستضافتهم له.
كما أشكر معالي الصديقة / أنجيلا ميركل مستشارة جمهورية ألمانيا الاتحادية ومعالي الصديقة السيدة/ ايرنا سولبرغ رئيسة وزراء مملكة النرويج على مشاركتهما في رئاسة هذا الحدث الهام، ولما بذلاه من جهود مقدرة في الإعداد له وهي جهود تعبر عن إدراكهما وإحساسهما بحجم معاناة الشعب السوري الإنسانية وإستجابة لوضع حد لها.

أصحاب الجلالة والفخامة والسمو،،،
أصحاب المعالي،،،

ينعقد المؤتمر الرابع للمانحين لمساعدة سوريا والمنطقة إستكمالا لثلاثة مؤتمرات إستضافتها بلادي الكويت على مدى السنوات الثلاث الماضية، إستطاعت خلالها جمع تعهدات تجاوزت سبعة مليارات وثلاثمائة مليون دولار، سددت دولة الكويت منها مليارا وثلاثمائة مليون دولار ساهمت في تأمين الإحتياجات المطلوبة للتخفيف من معاناة الشعب السوري الشقيق الذي يواجه أكبر كارثة إنسانية في عالمنا المعاصر وتدخل عامها السادس.

إن آثار هذه الكارثة المدمرة لم تقتصر على إقليمنا الذي يعاني حالياً من تبعاتها بل تجاوزت لتصل إلى قارات أخرى ومنها أوروبا التي وفد إليها اللاجئون بأعداد كبيرة طلباً للأمن والعيش الكريم، كما إنتقلت إليها المنظمات الإرهابية التي إنطلقت من بؤر التوتر لتمارس أعمالها الإجرامية الدنيئة في بعض الدول الأوروبية.

أصحاب الجلالة والفخامة والسمو،،،
أصحاب المعالي،،،

إن ما شهدناه مؤخراً من حركة نزوحٍ كبيرة لأعداد النازحين تعكس حجم معاناتهم وتضاعف من حجم الأزمة التي يعيشها هؤلاء الأشقاء، وأسجل لهذه الدول هنا كل الإشادة والتقدير على ما تبذله من جهود سخية ولما يقدمونه من خدمات للاجئين، كما أشيد أيضا بالجهود المقدرة التي تقوم بها الأمم المتحدة ووكالاتها الدولية المتخصصة في هذا السياق.

أصحاب الفخامة والسمو والمعالي،،،
أصحاب المعالي،،،

إننا نؤكد هنا ما سبق وأن ذكرناه، بأن هذه المأساة الإنسانية لن تنتهي إلا بحل سياسي يحقن الدماء ويعيد الإستقرار لعالمنا، لقد شكل إصدار مجلس الأمن الدولي قراره رقم 2254 بارقة أمل لنا جميعاً بإستعادة وحدة مجلس الأمن من أجل التصدي لهذه الكارثة وإنهائها، والذي نأمل أن نصل بهذا الصراع إلى حل سياسي ينهي معاناة شعب بأكمله ويخلص العالم من تبعاته المدمرة، وفي هذا الصدد فإننا نتطلع بأن تحقق إجتماعات جنيف برعاية الأمم المتحدة ممثلة بمبعوث الأمين العام السيد دي مستورا النتائج المنشودة.

إننا ونحن أمام هذا الوضع المأساوي الأليم الذي يعيشه الشعب السوري، نناشد من هذا المنبر المجتمع الدولي إستمرار تقديم المساعدات السخية للشعب السوري للتخفيف من معاناته الإنسانية وتجاوز الظروف المؤلمة التي يمر بها.

إننا مطالبون بالتفكير في فلسفة جديدة لتقديم الدعم والمساعدة للنازحين واللاجئين عبر إعتماد برامج وخطط توفر لهم فرصا لتعليم وتحفظ الأطفال من ضياع حقهم فيه، وترتقي بمستوى تعليمهم بما يمكنهم من مواجهة أعباء الحياة يعينهم على رسم مستقبلهم و يجنبهم الأمية و الجهل، ويحصن عقولهم من أية أفكار هدامة، وفي القطاع الصحي لابد لنا من إعتماد برامج تعنى بالصحة تؤمن لهم الخدمات الصحية الملائمة وتحصنهم من الأمراض والأوبئة وتوفر لمرضاهم العلاج اللازم.

كما أنه من الضروري ايضا توفير برامج خاصة تؤمن لهم فرص العمل ونحفظهم من تبعات البطالة وخطر الإنجراف في أعمال تهدد مستقبلهم ولا بد لنا هنا من التأكيد أن هذه البرامج يجب ان تنفذ وفق فترات زمنية محددة لضمان استمرارها وتحقيق الأهداف المرجوة منها .

وإنه ليسرني أن أعلن اليوم عن مساهمة دولة الكويت على المستويين الرسمي والأهلي بمبلغ ثلاثمائة مليون دولار على مدى ثلاث سنوات لدعم سوريا آملين أن نتمكن من تحقيق الأهداف المرجوة ومساعدة أشقائنا وتضميد جراحهم.

و في الختام،

لا يسعني إلا أن أكرر الشكر لكم جميعاً ولمعالي الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة ومساعديه، داعياً الله أن يمكننا من وضع حد لنزيف الدم وأن نحقق آمال وتطلعات الشعب السوري الشقيق المشروعة ونعيد لوطنهم الأمن والاستقرار.

والسلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته،،،



English French