Speeches



Speech by HH Amir of the State of Kuwait
Sheikh Sabah Al Ahmad Al Jaber Al Sabah In the Opening Ceremony
of United Nations' 18th Conference for Climate Change
4 December 2012 - Doha

 

In the name of Allah, the most merciful, the most compassionate,

His Highness and dear brother Sheikh Hamad Bin Khalifa Al-Thani,
Amir of the State of Qatar ,,,,
Highnesses and Excellences ,,,
His Excellency Mr. Abdulaah Bin Hamad Al-Atiyya – Chairman of the conference,,,
His Excellency Ban Ki-Moon – UN Secretary General ,,,
Ladies and Gentlemen ,,,
Dear Attendees,,,
Peace be upon you all ,,,

I am pleased to take this opportunity to express my sincere thanks and deep appreciation to the Emir, government and people of the state of Qatar, for the warm reception and generous hospitality and good organization of this important international conference, held under the umbrella of the United Nations, and the great efforts exerted in order to make it a success and to achieve its desired objectives.

I would like also to congratulate His Excellency Abdullah Bin Hamad Al-Atiyya for his selection as a Chairman of this conference. I am confident that the wisdom and experience he enjoys shall contribute to the success of this conference, and reaching the desired objectives and results as anticipated by our states.

And I am also pleased to take this opportunity to express to His Excellency the Secretary-General of the United Nations Ban Ki-moon, and the executive head of the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change Ms.Christiana Vigiris and her assistants my sincere thanks for their work for the well prepared for this conference, which deserves our appreciation and praise.

Highnesses and Excellencies,

It is our pleasure to see this high-level international participation in this conference, which reflects the great importance that the international community attaches to the issue of climate change, which has become an obsession for all the states and peoples of the world.

The State of Kuwait supports the efforts of the United Nations in the fight against climate change, through its active participation in the ongoing negotiations aimed at reducing the negative effects of this phenomenon, based on the principles and provisions contained in the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change and the Kyoto Protocol and their effective and sustainable cooperation in this field, especially the principle of shared responsibility, taking into account the variation of burdens and capacities, justice and sustainable development of different countries in line with their national priorities and capacities, in order to reduce emissions in materialization of the ambitions of all our peoples.

Highnesses and Excellencies,

This conference is held in the state of Qatar in a crucial stage which requires adopting decisions that pave the way for the next phase beyond 2012 towards this phenomenon, and adapting to it whether within the frame of long-term cooperation through effective implementation of the Bali Action Plan in all its elements, and the agreement on the second commitment period for developed countries, without imposing new obligations on developing countries, except for those voluntary actions which commensurate with their national potentials backed with financing, technology transfer and capacity building.

The State of Kuwait also hopes that the developed countries abide by their leading role in reducing emissions and helping developing countries adapt to the adverse effects of climate change, and the negative effects resulting from the measures of responding to mitigating the effects of climate change, especially those whose economies rely on the use of fossil fuels as a major and sole source of income, and this can be achieved through the transfer of technology and the diversification of income sources.

Highnesses and Excellencies,

In contribution to the emission reduction the State of Kuwait made great voluntary and thoughtful strides, according to available resources, in the rehabilitation of its oil and industrial installations, where the oil sector adopted a new strategy based on scientific and economic grounds that aim to reduce emissions, as well as setting mechanisms for improving energy efficiency, and the use of the clean technology for fossil energy, without prejudice to its fundamental interests and obligations in it’s the development of clean industry.

In the field of renewable energy, the State of Kuwait attached great concern to the diversification of its energy sources, where the concerned entities started the executive phases of an ambitious plan for using wind and solar energy aiming to raise the percentage of using this energy to 1% of the total energy usage in Kuwait in 2015, and up to 15% in 2030.

In conclusion, I repeat my thanks and gratitude to the State of Qatar for hosting this conference, hoping to achieve its desired ambitions and hopes that will positively reflect upon our peoples and achieve good and benefit if all mankind.

Peace be upon you all,,

عربي French

نـص كلمة حضرة صاحب السمو امير البلاد الشيخ صباح الأحمد الجابر الصباح حفظه الله و رعاه امام
مؤتمر الأمم المتحدة الثامن عشر للتغير المناخي – الدوحة في 4 ديسمبر 2012


بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم


صاحب السمو الاخ العزيز الشيخ حمد بن خليفة آل ثاني امير دولة قطر الشقيقة،،،
اصحاب الفخامة والسمو والمعالي،،،
معالي السيد عبدالله بن حمد العطية رئيس المؤتمر،،،
معالي بان كي مون الامين العام للأمم المتحدة،،،
السيدات والسادة الحضور الكرام،،،
السلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته،،،

يسعدني أن أنتهز هذه المناسبة للإعراب عن خالص شكري وبالغ تقديري لدولة قطر الشقيقة أميرا وحكومة وشعبا على حفاوة الاستقبال وكرم الضيافة وحسن التنظيم لهذا المؤتمر الدولي الهام المنعقد تحت مظلة الأمم المتحدة وللجهود الكبيرة المبذولة من أجل انجاحه وتحقيق الأهداف المرجوة منه.

كما أهنيء معالي عبدالله بن حمد العطية على انتخابه رئيسا لهذا المؤتمر وإنني لعلى ثقة بأن ما يتمتع به من حكمة وخبرة سيسهم في إنجاح المؤتمر والوصول الى الغايات والنتائج المرجوة منه والتي تتطلع اليها دولنا.
و يسرني كذلك ان انتهز هذه المناسبة لأعرب لمعالي الامين العام للأمم المتحدة بان كي مون وللرئيسة التنفيذية لاتفاقية الامم المتحدة الاطارية بشأن تغير المناخ السيدة كريستيانا فيجيريس ولمساعديها عن خالص الشكر على ما بذلوه من عمل يستحق منا كل التقدير والثناء للإعداد الجيد لهذا المؤتمر.

أصحاب الفخامة والسمو والمعالي،،،

انه لمن دواعي سرورنا ان نرى هذه المشاركة الدولية رفيعة المستوى في هذا المؤتمر والتي تعكس الاهمية الكبرى التي يوليها المجتمع الدولي لموضوع التغير المناخي الذي اصبح هاجساً لجميع دول وشعوب العالم.

إن دولة الكويت تدعم الجهود التي تبذلها الأمم المتحدة في مكافحة ظاهرة التغير المناخي من خلال مشاركتها الفعالة في المفاوضات الجارية الرامية للحد من الآثار السلبية لهذه الظاهرة وذلك استنادا للمبادئ والأحكام التي تضمنتها اتفاقية الامم المتحدة الاطارية لتغير المناخ وبروتوكول كيوتو وتنفيذهما التنفيذ الفعال والمستدام باعتبارهما الاداة القانونية الملزمة وأساسا للتعاون الدولي في هذا المجال خاصة مبدأ المسؤولية المشتركة مع الاخذ بالاعتبار تباين الاعباء وتفاوت القدرات والعدالة والتنمية المستدامة للدول بما يتوافق مع اولوياتها وقدراتها الوطنية من اجل خفض الانبعاثات بما يحقق طموح شعوب دولنا جميعا.

أصحاب الفخامة والسمو والمعالي،،،

ينعقد مؤتمرنا هذا في دولة قطر الشقيقة في مرحلة حاسمة تتطلب وجوب تبني قرارات تمهد للمرحلة القادمة لما بعد 2012 تجاه هذه الظاهرة والتأقلم معها سواء في اطار التعاون طويل الامد من خلال التنفيذ الفعال لخطة عمل بالي بجميع عناصرها والاتفاق على فترة الالتزام الثانية لدول المرفق الاول دون فرض التزامات جديدة على الدول النامية عدا تلك الاجراءات الطوعية بما يتناسب مع امكاناتها الوطنية المدعومة بالتمويل ونقل التكنولوجيا وبناء القدرات.

كما تأمل دولة الكويت ان تلتزم الدول المتقدمة بدورها الريادي في خفض الانبعاثات ومساعدة الدول النامية في التكيف مع الآثار السلبية الناتجة عن تغير المناخ والآثار السلبية الناتجة عن تدابير الاستجابة لتخفيف آثار تغير المناخ وخاصة الدول التي تعتمد اقتصادياتها على استخدام الوقود الاحفوري كمصدر رئيسي ووحيد للدخل وذلك من خلال نقل التكنولوجيا وتنويع مصادر الدخل.

أصحاب الفخامة والسمو والمعالي،،،

إن دولة الكويت ومساهمة منها في خفض الانبعاثات قطعت شوطا كبيرا وبشكل طوعي ومدروس وبحسب الامكانات المتاحة في اعادة تأهيل منشآتها النفطية والصناعية حيث تبنى القطاع النفطي استراتيجية جديدة تقوم على أسس علمية واقتصادية تهدف الى الحد من الانبعاثات بالإضافة الى وضع آليات لتطبيق وتحسين كفاءة الطاقة واستخدام التكنولوجيا النظيفة للطاقة الأحفورية بما لا يخل بمصالحها الاساسية والتزاماتها في تطوير الصناعة النظيفة.

وفي مجال الطاقة المتجددة فقد أولت دولة الكويت اهتماما كبيرا بتنويع مصادر الطاقة لديها حيث بدأت الجهات المختصة في المراحل التنفيذية لخطة طموحة نحو استخدام طاقة الرياح والطاقة الشمسية تهدف الى أن تصل نسبة استخدام هذه الطاقة الى 1 بالمائة في العام 2015 وصولا الى 15 بالمائة في العام 2030 من اجمالي الطاقة المستخدمة في دولة الكويت.

وفي الختام،،،

أكرر شكري وامتناني لدولة قطر الشقيقة على استضافتها لهذا المؤتمر متمنيا أن يحقق الطموحات والآمال المرجوة التي تعود نتائجها على شعوبنا وتحقق خير وصالح البشرية جمعاء.



والسلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته،،،


English French