Speeches

  • Speech of His Highness Amir of Kuwait Sheikh Sabah Al-Ahmed Al-Jaber Al-Sabah In the Twenty First Arabian Summit 29 - 31 March 2009 Doha - State of Qatar
Speech of H. H. Amir of Kuwait Sheikh Sabah Al-Ahmed Al-Jaber Al-Sabah
In the Twenty First Arabian Summit 29 - 31 March 2009
Doha - State of Qatar


In the Name of Allah, The Most Merciful, The Most Compassionate

Praise be to Allah the Lord of all universes, and peace be upon His Apostle Mohamed, His Family, and all His Companions,,,

His Highness Brother Sheikh Hamad Bin Khalifa Al-Thani, Amir of the brotherly State of Qatar, Head of the Arabian Summit,,,

His Excellency Brother Bashar Al-Asad, Head of the previous Arabian summit,,,

Their Majesties,,, Excellencies and Highnesses,,,
His Excellency the Secretary General of the Arab League ,,,
Their Excellencies members of delegations,,,

Peace and Blessings of Allah be upon you,,,

In the beginning I would like to convey my thanks and gratitude to the leadership and people of the State of Qatar for hosting this summit, and to praise the great and sincere efforts exerted and still being exerted by our brother His Highness Sheikh Hamad Bin Khalifa Al Thani to provide all the facilities for the success of this summit.

I would like also to thank His Excellency President Bashar Al-Asad, President of the brotherly Syrian Arab Republic for his sincere and constructive efforts during his presidency of the works of the previous summit.

Their Majesties, Excellencies and Highnesses,,,

We are holding this meeting in the brotherly State of Qatar to consider the situation of our Arab nation, and the deterioration it reached due to the increase and extension of political differences in such hard and critical circumstances we all pass. Such circumstances impose us to have a serious and sincere stance through which we can identify weaknesses in our common Arab work, and the reasons beyond its retraction, which lead to stagnancy of all sound treatments, weakened our ability to improve the position of our nation to reach the anticipated advancement, elevation, and unity. This in turn lead to increase the parting instead of unity and solidarity, and hindered the course of development in our Arab nation. With all this in view, our Arab stance became weaker in confronting the surrounding regional and international risks.

Let’s identify then the nature of Arab differences; is it about dominance? or is it just a difference in view points? There is no doubt that it is just a difference in view points. If this is the case, why should we get our peoples involved in such differences between the political systems, and why not keep them away from it?

Their Majesties, Excellencies and Highnesses,,,

Today, we are called upon today, more than we were in any previous stage, to continue our support for the sincere and constructive efforts to achieve harmony in our Arab relations, and to throw behind such political tensions and differences which affected our cases, most important is the Palestinian one, which dates back to more than sixty years without any solution, due to the lack of a unified Arab and Palestinian situation towards it.

We have to set the factual and logical basis that can be built upon for Arab relations that rely on mutual respect and benefits.

I believe that our start in the Arab Economic, Social, and Developmental Summit, hosted by the State of Kuwait, represents a good base for such efforts through the beneficent initiative of our brother the Custodian of the two Holly Mosques during that summit, and the concerns he expressed in the minimized summit in Riyadh. Here we recall his historical speech in the Arab Economic Summit, and appreciate his explanation that our political differences lead to our separation and dispersion of our efforts, and were even a help for the Israeli enemy and to all those who wanted to hit the Arab unity, and his assurance that we, as the leaders of the Arab nations, are all responsible for such weakness in our stance, and his call for putting aside our differences and not to surrender to despair.

Their Majesties, Excellencies and Highnesses,,,

Our serious steps on the path of achieving a sincere Arab explanation shall help us materialize the anticipated solidarity and unit of the Arab stance in confrontation of the increasing challenges on both regional and International levels. It shall also provide the required atmosphere for achieving high levels of development that satisfy the requirements of the era in elevating the standards of living of the Arab citizen. Also, it will contribute to giving the world a brighter vision of our unity and ability to face all challenges.

Concentration on the points of difference in our visions and our stances toward political problems lead to shedding most of our Arab abilities, and minimized other horizons of Arab mutual cooperation. It is necessary to let go such a shameful reality and to concentrate on the mutual economic fields of cooperation; to introduce constructive projects capable of achieving what the Arab citizen anticipates, which was behind the idea of the Arab Economic, Developmental, and Social Summit hosted by the State of Kuwait.

Their Majesties, Excellencies and Highnesses,,,

Your participation and your contributions in the Arab Economic, Developmental, and Social Summit recently hosted by the State of Kuwait, dominated by Gaza events, had the biggest effect in achieving the positive results we reached. It showed the sincere desire of our brothers in having a new course for our mutual Arab work, that grants priority to concentrate on the economic side of such work and achieving its objectives.

The Kuwait Arab Economic Summit came up with important decisions on the level of upgrading the standard of living of the Arab citizen, granting priority to mutual Arab investments, granting more opportunities to the private sector, the civil society, supporting production sectors, commerce, services and social projects, which all support our endeavors for satisfying the needs of the Arab citizen, and enhance our efforts in trying to get out of the current international financial crises, which had no exceptions.

We avail this opportunity to refer to the initiative set out during the summit, concerning the finance and support of the private sector projects and small and medium businesses in the Arab world with a capital of US$ 2 billion, and the participation of the State of Kuwait with US$ 500 million in its capital for the activation of the set out of this developmental initiative.

We have referred this initiative to all the brotherly countries to activate it, and to participate in its finance. I would like here to thank both the Republic of Djibouti and the Islamic Republic of Mauritania for their participation in this initiative.

Their Majesties, Excellencies and Highnesses,,,

It is unfortunate to see our brothers in Palestine scattered by their differences and fighting together, which reflected passively on our Arab reality, and weakened our political situation. However, what calls for optimism is that we see sincere efforts being exerted for passing such differences and reaching the unity of the Palestinians, and to send a message to the whole world that they were able to rationalize and be wise in confrontation of all hindrances.

We follow with great interest the efforts exerted by the eldest sister Egypt, under the leadership of our brother His Excellency President Mohamed Hosni Mubarak, who plays a historical role to achieve Palestinian national unity, setting out from his national responsibility and understanding of the size of the challenge and risks facing our nation and the risks threatening the destiny of our Palestinian brothers.

Unsurprisingly, it is a historical constructive role that deserves our appreciation and proud. We wish all success to these efforts to achieve the Palestinian unity for the good of the Palestinian people and all the Arab and Islamic nation.

Their Majesties, Excellencies and Highnesses,,,

The severe recent Israeli aggression on Gaza strip resulted in unsurpassed damages, either in the number of innocent victims or the size of destruction of properties and enterprises, and is considered a violation of all human rules and international treaties, which necessitates that the international community shoulder its historical liability by putting a limit to such practices, and moving forward for pushing all the efforts seeking the achievement of just and comprehensive peace in the area, which shall not be achieved but through abiding by international legality and be based upon the Arab peace initiative, as well as ending the Israeli occupation of all the Arab territories occupied since 1967.

Their Majesties, Excellencies and Highnesses,,,

We closely follow the development of the Situation in Iraq, which witnessed a considerable advancement recently on the level of security, political and economic stability. We also congratulate the brotherly Iraq, its government and people on the occasion of the success of the elections of the governorate councils which were performed in last January.

Their Majesties, Excellencies and Highnesses,,,

We follow with great concern the consequences of the decision of the International Criminal Court of issuing a cease order against our brother president Omar Hasan Al-Bashir, president of the brotherly Republic of Sudan. We believe that this decision is not in the favor of the Arabian and African Efforts for solving the Darfur Issue. We call upon the Security Council, pursuant to its well known capacities, to postpone the procedures taken by the said court, to grant an opportunity to the peace efforts to achieve its results.

We also call upon the brothers in The Republic of Sudan to fill any gabs in the humanitarian efforts aiming at helping those facing difficult humanitarian situations in Darfur.

We also congratulate His Excellency President Sheikh Sharif Ahmed for the position of President of the brotherly Democratic Republic of Somalia, hoping that his tenure shall be the beginning of a new era during which Somalia shall restore its position as an active participant in the Arab group and the international community.

Their Majesties, Excellencies and Highnesses,,,

On the regional level, we call upon the Islamic Republic of Iran to respond to the efforts of the United Arab Emirates to solve the issue of the Emirates Islands through the direct negotiations or resorting to the international court of justice.

Once again, we reiterate our call for the importance to make the Middle East area void free of all mass destruction weapons, including nuclear weapons, and the necessity that Israel joins the nonproliferation of nuclear weapons treaty, and to subject all its nuclear utilities to inspection by the International Agency for Atomic Power. We confirm the right of these countries to obtain nuclear power for peaceful purposes, and call upon the friendly Islamic Republic of Iran, the International Agency for Atomic Power and the major countries concerned with the Iranian nuclear file to continue their serious and constructive discussion to reach a solution that removes tension, and clears all the doubts of that issue.

We continue to reiterate our utmost support of all the efforts exerted to fight terrorism in all its forms, that aim at affecting the stability and development of the nations. We call upon the international community to continue its efforts to confront terrorism worldwide.

Their Majesties, Excellencies and Highnesses,,,

We conclude by expressing again our gratitude to the brotherly State of Qatar for its hospitality and to wish it all the advancement and prosperity under the wise leadership of our brother His Highness Sheikh Hamad Bin Khalifa Al Thani, may Allah bless all his efforts.

 

Assalamu Alikom Warahmatullahi Wabarakatu

 

 

عربي French

• كلمة حضرة صاحب السمو امير البلاد الشيخ صباح الأحمد الجابر الصباح حفظه الله ورعاه أمام مؤتمر القمة العربية ال 21 المنعقد في العاصمة القطرية - الدوحة 29-31 مارس 2009
نـص كلمة حضرة صاحب السمو امير البلاد الشيخ صباح الأحمد الجابر الصباح
حفظه الله ورعاه أمام مؤتمر القمة العربية ال 21 المنعقد في العاصمة القطرية - الدوحة
29-31 مارس 2009


بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم



الحمد لله رب العالمين، والصلاة والسلام على اشرف المرسلين سيدنا محمد وعلى اله وصحبه اجمعين،،،

صاحب السمو الأخ الشيخ حمد بن خليفة آل ثاني أمير دولة قطر الشقيقة رئيس القمة العربية،،،

صاحب الفخامة الأخ الرئيس بشار الأسد رئيس القمة العربية السابقة،،،

أصحاب الجلالة والفخامة والسمو،،،

أصحاب المعالي،،،

معالي الأمين العام لجامعة الدول العربية،،،

السادة أعضاء الوفود،،،

السلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته،،،

أود في البداية أن أتقدم بالشكر والتقدير لدولة قطر قيادة وشعبا لاستضافتهــا هذه القمة، وان أشيد بالجهود الكبيرة والمخلصة التي بذلها ويبذلها أخونا صاحب السمو الشيخ حمد بن خليفة آل ثاني لتوفير كافة السبل لإنجاح هذه القمة.

كما أتوجه أيضاً بالشكر والتقدير لفخامة الأخ الرئيس بشار الأسد رئيس الجمهورية العربية السورية الشقيقة على ما بذله من جهود مخلصة وبناءة أثناء ترؤسه لأعمال القمة السابقة.

أصحاب الجلالة والفخامة والسمو،،،

يعقد اجتماعنا هذا على أرض دولة قطر الشقيقة لنتدارس أوضاع امتنا العربية، وما آلت إليه نتيجة تفاقم وتنامي الخلافات السياسية في ظل ظروف صعبة ودقيقة، نمر بها جميعا تفرض علينا الوقوف وقفة جادة ومخلصة، نتلمس من خلالها مواطن الضعف والاختلال في عملنا العربي المشترك، والأسباب التي تقف وراء تراجع ذلك العمل، وما أدى إليه من تعطيل لكل فرص المعالجات السليمة، وقدرتنا على النهوض بأوضاع امتنا إلى ما نصبوا إليه من تقدم ورقــي ووحدة في الصف العربي، وهو الأمر الذي أدى إلى استفحال روح الفرقة بدلا من الوحدة والتضامن واسهم في تعطيل مسيرة التنمية في وطننا العربي، وبات معه موقفنا العربي يعاني من الضعف والهوان، في مواجهة مخاطر إقليمية ودولية تحيط بنا.

ولنـــا أن نتساءل عن ماهية خلافاتنا العربية هل هي على السيادة؟ أم خلاف في الرأي ؟ لاشك انه خلاف في الرأي ... وإذا كان الأمر كذلك، فلماذا ندخل شعوبنا العربية في هذه الخلافات بين الأنظمة ؟ ولماذا لا ننأى بها عنها ؟ .

أصحاب الجلالة والفخامة والسمو،،،

إننا مدعوون اليوم أكثر من أي وقت مضى أن نمضي قدماً، ونواصل دعم الجهود المخلصة والبناءة لتحقيق الانفراج في أجواء علاقاتنا العربية، وان نلقي وراء ظهورنا هذه التوترات والخلافات السياسية التي أثرت على قضايانا، وفي مقدمتها قضيتنا الفلسطينية التي مضى عليها أكثر من ستين عاما، دون أن تحل لعدم وجود موقف عربي وفلسطيني موحد تجاهها.

إن علينا أن نضع الأسس الواقعية والمنطقية التي يمكن البناء عليها لعلاقات عربية تقوم على الاحترام المتبادل وتحقيق المصالح المشتركة.

ولعل ما بدأناه في القمة العربية الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والتنموية التي احتضنتها دولة الكويت يمثل أساساً صالحاً لتلك الجهود، من خلال المبادرة الخيرة التي أطلقها أخونا خادم الحرمين الشريفين خلال تلك القمة ومتابعته الحثيثة لها في القمة المصغرة التي احتضنتها الرياض، مستذكرين خطابه التاريخي في هذه القمة العربية الاقتصادية، ومثمنين ما تضمنه من تأكيد على إن خلافاتنا السياسية أدت إلى فرقتنا وانقسامنا وشتات أمرنا، وكانت عونا للعدو الإسرائيلي ولكل من يريد شق الصف العربي، وتأكيده أيضاً على أننا قادة الأمة العربية مسئولون جميعا عن هذا الوهن الذي أصاب موقفنا ودعوته إلى السمو عن خلافاتنا حتى لا يتمكن منا اليأس.

أصحاب الجلالة والفخامة والسمو،،،

إن الخطــــوات الجــــادة التي سوف نحققها في سعينا للوصول لأجـــواء مصالحة عربـــية صادقة ، ستحقق لنا التضامن المنشود ، والوحدة في الموقف العربي حيال التحديات المتزايدة على المستويين الإقليمي والدولي، كما ستوفر لنا المنـــاخ المطلوب لتحقيـــق معدلات تنموية عالية تلبي متطلبات العصر في الارتقاء بمستوى المعيشة للمواطن العربي، كما وسوف تسهم في إعطاء العالم من حولنا صورة مشرقة لتلاحمنا ووحدتنا ، وقدرتنا على مواجهة كافة التحديات ... إن التركيز على نقاط الخلاف في رؤانا ومواقفنا تجاه المشــــاكل السياسية أدى إلى استنزاف معظم طاقاتنـــا العربية ، وحجب آفاق التعاون العربي المشترك الأخرى، مما استوجب معه تجاوز هذا الواقع المؤسف، والتركيز على مجالات التعاون الاقتصادي المشترك لتقديم مشــــاريع بناءة على اقل تقدير لتحقيق ما يصبو إليه المواطن العربي من تقدم ورقي ، وهو ما أوحى بفكرة القمة العربية الاقتصادية والتنموية والاجتماعية التي احتضنتها دولة الكويت.

أصحاب الجلالة والفخامة والسمو،،،

لقد كانت مشاركتكم وإسهاماتكم في القمة العربية الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والتنموية التي احتضنها بلدكم الكويت مؤخراً، والتي ألقت أحداث غزة بظلالها ، وفرضت واقعاً عليها اكبر الأثر في تحقيق النتائج الايجابية التي توصلنا إليها، حيث عكست الرغبة الصادقة لدى الأشقاء في نهج جديد لعملنا العربي المشترك ينطلق من إعطاء الأولوية، والتركيز على المعطيات الاقتصادية لمسيرة هذا العمل وتحقيق غاياته.

لقد خرجت قمة الكويت الاقتصادية بقرارات هامة على صعيد الارتقاء بمستوى معيشة المواطن العربي وإعطاء الأولوية للاستثمارات العربية المشتركة، وإفساح المجال للمزيد من الفرص للقطاع الخاص والمجتمع المدني، وتدعيم قطاعات الإنتاج، والتجارة، والخدمات والمشروعات الاجتماعية، مما يسهم في دعم مساعينا لتلبية احتياجات المواطن العربي، ويعزز جهودنا في محاولتنا الخروج من ما نواجهه اليوم من أزمة مالية عالمية طاحنه لم تستثني احد.

ونغتنم هذه الفرصة للإشارة إلى المبادرة التي تم إطلاقها خلال القمة والخاصة بتمويل ودعم مشاريع القطاع الخاص، والأعمال الصغيرة والمتوسطة في الوطن العربي برأس مال قدره ملياري دولار، ومساهمة دولة الكويت بمبلغ خمسمائة مليون دولار في رأس المال لتفعيل انطلاقة هذه المبادرة التنموية.

ولقد أحلنا هذه المبادرة لكافة الدول الشقيقة للانطلاق بها مجدداً الدعوة إلى دعم هذه المبادرة والمساهمة في تمويلها، ومعرباً عن شكرنا لإعلان كل من جمهورية جيبوتي وجمهورية موريتانيا الإسلامية المساهمة بهذه المبادرة.

أصحاب الجلالة والفخامة والسمو،،،

إن مما يدعو إلى الأسف أن نرى الأشقاء الفلسطينيين، وقد أنهكتهم الخلافات، وأثقل كاهلهم التطاحن، مما انعكس سلبا على واقعنا العربي، واضعف موقفنا السياسي ... غير أن ما يدعو إلى الأمل والتفاؤل في نفس الوقت ، أن نرى مساع جادة ومخلصة لطي صفحة تلك الخلافات إيماناً من الأشقاء الذين يسعون إلى التسامي فوق جراحهم ، وتغليب المصالحة على الخصومة، وصولاً إلى وحدة الصف الفلسطيني وإرسال رسالة للعالم اجمع، إنهم استطاعوا أن يغلبوا الحكمة والعقل في مواجهة كافة العقبات.

إننا نتابع باهتمام بالغ الجهود والمساعي الخيرة التي تبذلها الشقيقة الكبرى مصر العروبة ، بقيادة أخينا فخامة الرئيس محمد حسني مبارك ، الذي ينهض بدور تاريخي دءوب لتحقيق الوفاق الوطني الفلسطيني انطلاقاً من مسؤولياته القومية ، وإدراكاً من فخامته لحجم التحدي الذي يواجه أمتنا والمخاطر التي تهدد مصير أشقائنا الفلسطينيين.

انه دور تاريخي بناء وغير مستغرب يستحق منا كل إكبار واعتزاز متمنين بذات الوقت التوفيق والنجاح لهذه المساعي لإنجاح الوفاق الفلسطيني الذي يحقق المصلحة والخير لأبناء الشعب الفلسطيني والأمة العربية والإسلامية جمعاء.

أصحاب الجلالة والفخامة والسمو،،،

إن ما قامت به إسرائيل مؤخراً من عدوان صارخ استهدف قطاع غزة المحتل، وما جرى خلاله من قتل للأبرياء وتدمير للممتلكات والمؤسسات، وانتهاك للمواثيق والعهود الدولية يوجب على المجتمع الدولي المبادرة بممارسة مسؤولياته التاريخية لوضع حد لهذه الممارسات بالتحرك لدفع كافة الجهود لتحقيق السلام العادل والشامل في المنطقة الذي لن يتأتى إلا من خلال الالتزام بقرارات الشرعية الدولية على أساس المبادرة العربية للسلام، وإنهاء الاحتلال الإسرائيلي لكافة الأراضي العربية التي احتلتها عام 1967م.

أصحاب الجلالة والفخامة والسمو،،،

إننا نتابع باهتمام تطورات الأوضاع في العراق، والتي شهدت تقدما ملحوظا في الآونة الأخيرة على صعيد الاستقرار الأمني والسياسي والاقتصادي، ونهنئ العراق الشقيق حكومة وشعبا على نجاح انتخابات مجالس المحافظات التي جرت في يناير الماضي.

أصحاب الجلالة والفخامة والسمو،،،

إننا نتابع باهتمام وقلق تداعيات قرار المحكمــــة الجنائية الدوليــة بإصدار أمر توقيف في حق فخامة الأخ الرئيس عمر حسن البشير رئيس جمهــــورية السودان الشقيقة، ونرى بان هذا القرار لا يخدم الجهود العربية والأفريقية لحل مســالة دارفور، وندعو مجلس الأمن ووفقا لصلاحياته المعروفة، الى تأجيل الإجراءات المتخذة من قبل هذه المحكمة، لإعطاء فرصة لجهود السلام لتحقيق نتائجهــا المرجوة، وندعو الإخوة في السودان الشقيق لسد أية ثغرات في الجهود الإنسانية الهادفة إغاثة من يواجهون أوضاع إنسانية صعبة في دارفور.

كما نبارك لفخامة الرئيس الأخ الشيخ شريف احمد، تولي منصب الرئاسة في جمهورية الصومال الديمقراطية الشقيقة، متمنين أن تمثل فترة ولايته بداية مرحلة جديدة لعودة الصومال عضوا فاعلا في المجموعة العربية والمجتمع الدولي.

أصحاب الجلالة والفخامة والسمو،،،

وفي الإطار الإقليمي فإننا ندعو جمهورية إيران الإسلامية الاستجابة لمساعي دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة الشقيقة لحل قضية الجزر الإماراتية، عن طريق المفاوضات المباشرة، أو اللجوء إلى محكمة العدل الدولية.

كما نؤكد مرة أخرى على أهمية العمل على جعل منطقة الشرق الأوسط خالية من كافة أسلحة الدمار الشامل بما فيها الأسلحة النووية، وضرورة انضمام إسرائيل إلى معاهدة عدم انتشار الأسلحة النووية وإخضاع كافة منشاتها لنظام التفتيش الدولي التابع للوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية، مع التأكيد على حق هذه الدول في الحصول على تكنولوجيا الطاقة الذرية للاستخدامات السلمية ... وندعو الجمهورية الإسلامية الإيرانية الصديقة والوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية والدول الرئيسية المعنية بالملف النووي الإيراني الاستمرار بالحوار الجاد والبناء، للوصول الى حل يكفل ويحقق إزالة التوتر والشكوك التي لا تزال تحيط بهذا الموضوع.

كما نواصل التأكيد على دعمنا المطلق لكافة الجهود المبذولة لمكافحة الإرهاب بكافة أشكاله وصوره، الذي يستهدف الإضرار باستقرار ونماء الشعوب، وندعو المجتمع الدولي الى مضاعفة جهوده لمواجهة الأعمال الإرهابية والتي تستهدف العالم اجمع.

أصحاب الجلالة والفخامة والسمو،،،

في الختام لا يسعنا إلا أن نكرر امتناننا لدولة قطر الشقيقة على ما أحاطتنا به من عناية وكرم ضيافة متمنين لها كل التقدم والرخاء تحت القيادة الحكيمة لأخينا صاحب السمو الشيخ حمد بن خليفة آل ثاني، داعين المولى العزيز أن يحيط جهود سموه برعايته وعنايته.

 

والسلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته،،،

 

English French