A HUMANITARIAN LEADER



  • Following the enormous efforts, exerted by Kuwait namely it's (His Highness) the Amir at the humanitarian level worldwide, including its hosting of the two aid conferences for Syria, the UN chief announced that Kuwait has turned into "an international humanitarian center" and its Amir is the "humanitarian leader" affirming the country’s positive and leading role for humanitarian help.

    Ban applauded the government and people of Kuwait, announced his deep gratitude, thanked the Arab League, the Organization of Islamic Cooperation, the Gulf Cooperation Council countries, the European, the United States and many other donors, humanitarian agencies, Nongovernmental Organizations, namely the Red Crescent and the Red Cross, for aiding the afflicted in the Syrian crisis.

    Kuwait's aid soars under His Highness the Amir

    Since His Highness the Amir Sheikh Sabah Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah assumed power in 2006, Kuwait's humanitarian aid to the world has been soaring, reaching almost each and every corner of the world.

    His Highness the Amir has always been to put Kuwait at the heart of humanitarian work, raising the volume of aid and relief supplies provided to the countries hit by catastrophes and crisis.

    The UN has recently named Kuwait a humanitarian center, and His Highness the Amir a humanitarian leader. Part of this, Kuwait has hosted the First and Second International Humanitarian Pledging Conferences for Syria.

    In the first conference, held in January 2013, His Highness the Amir announced a donation of USD 300 million to the Syrian refugees. Then in the 2nd Pledging Conference held in January 2014, other USD 500 million was offered. Kuwait's aid to the Syrian refugees has not been confined to these two international gatherings.

    Since the outbreak of the Syrian crisis in 2011, several humanitarian aid campaigns were launched, led by charity institutions that delivered relief supplies to the Syrian refugees. The International Islamic Charitable Organization and the Kuwait Red Crescent Society played a leading role for aiding the refugees in Syria's neighboring countries.

    On the Palestinian scene, Kuwait has always stressed backing the Palestinian cause and people. His Highness the Amir announced in January 2009 donating USD 34 million to the United Nations Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees in the Near East (UNRWA). This was prompted by a strong belief in the humanitarian role played by UNRWA.

    In addition, Kuwait made a commitment to offer USD 300 million in support of the Palestinian Authority in a donor's conference for the Palestinians held in Paris on December 2007. In March 2009, Kuwait promised USD 200 million to the Palestinian Authority over five years, as part of a reconstruction program in the Gaza Strip.

    In November, 2012, Kuwait and the World Bank signed an agreement according to which the country would contribute USD 50 million to the Palestinian Reform and Development Program (PRDP) and last June, it donated USD 10 million more for the Palestinians.

    Kuwait also hurried to help the countries struck by catastrophes. When cyclone Sidr hit Bangladesh in November 2007, USD 10 million were hurriedly offered for relief efforts, at behest of His Highness the Amir.

    Also after a destructive earthquake and a Tsunami hit Japan in 2011, His Highness the Amir ordered donating 5 million crude oil barrels, worth USD 500 million, to Tokyo.

    Also in July 2011, Kuwait decided to send relief aid worth USD10 million to Somalia in a bid to lessen the impact of drought and famine in the country.

    When the Van earthquake hit Turkey also in 2011, Kuwait offered USD 250,000 for the victims through the UNICEF, and with the start of 2014, the country announced a donation worth USD 10 million to Philippines following the wide damages caused by typhoon Haiyan.

    Also, Kuwait decided to donate USD five million to enable the World Health Organization (WHO) to combat the spread of Ebola virus. (KUNA)


عربي French

• بعد الجهود الكبيرة التي بذلتها الكويت و أميرها في الجانب الإنساني على مستوى العالم، ومنها استضافتها للمؤتمرين الأول والثاني للمانحين لدعم الشعب السوري، جاء وصف السكرتير العام للأمم المتحدة بان كي مون للكويت بأنها "مركز إنساني عالمي"، و أن سمو الأمير "قائداً للإنسانية" تأكيداً على الدور الإيجابي الرائد لدولة الكويت الإنساني.

    وتوجه بان كي مون خلال كلمته في اختتام مؤتمر المانحين الثاني في يناير 2014 بالشكر لسمو الأمير وتقديره لمساهمة دولة الكويت التي شجعت الأسرة الدولية على المساهمة بسخاء في المؤتمر.

    ووصف السكرتير العام للأمم المتحدة سمو أمير الكويت بأنه" قائداً انسانياً"، وقال إن صاحب السمو الأمير الشيخ صباح الأحمد الجابر الصباح لعب دورا مهما على الصعيد الانساني ما جعل من الكويت مركزا إنسانيا عالمياً.

    و أضاف" انا أصفق لحكومة و شعب الكويت و أعربُ مجدداً عن فائق الامتنان كما أتقدم بالشكر إلى جامعة الدول العربية ومنظمة التعاون الإسلامي ودول مجلس التعاون الخليجي والاتحاد الاوروبـــي والولايــــات المتحدة والكثير من الجهات المانحة الأخرى والوكالات الإنسـانية والمنظمات غير الحكومية وفي مقدمتها الهـــلال الأحمر والصليب الأحمر الذين ساعدوا المتضررين من الأزمة السورية".

    شهدت دولة الكويت منذ أن تولى حضرة صاحب السمو أمير البلاد الشيخ صباح الأحمد الجابر الصباح حفظه الله ورعاه مقاليد الحكم في عام 2006 تناميا كبيرا في دعم المساعدات الإنسانية وتوسيعها بشكل ملحوظ إلى مختلف أنحاء العالم.

    ودأب سموه على أن تكون دولة الكويت سباقة في العمل الخيري الإنساني وأن تمسك بزمام المبادرات العالمية في هذا الجانب حيث حرصت الكويت خلال السنوات الماضية على زيادة حجم التبرعات في الدول التي تصيبها كوارث أو أزمات.. لذا لم يكن غريبا أن يتم اختيار الكويت"مركزا للعمل الانساني" وأن ينال أميرها لقب"قائد للعمل الانساني"..

    وجاءت استضافة الكويت للمؤتمرين الأول والثاني للمانحين لدعم الوضع الإنساني في سوريا تأكيدا على دور السياسة الخارجية الكويتية الانساني اذ أعلن سمو الأمير في المؤتمر الأول الذي عقد في يناير 2013 عن تبرع دولة الكويت بمبلغ 300 مليون دولار أمريكي بينما ارتفعت قيمة التبرعات الكويتية في المؤتمر الثاني الذي أقيم في يناير الماضي إلى 500 مليون دولار.

    ولم تقتصر المساعدات الكويتية للشعب السوري على هذين المؤتمرين فقد انطلقت حملات الإغاثة الإنسانية منذ بداية الأزمة السورية في عام 2011 وساهمت الجمعيات الكويتية والهيئات الخيرية بإيصال تلك المساعدات الى جانب اسهام كل من الهلال الأحمر الكويتي والهيئة الخيرية الاسلامية العالمية بجهود كبيرة لإغاثة النازحين في دول جوار سوريا.

    وفيما يتعلق بالدعم الكويتي للشعب الفلسطيني أكدت الكويت مرارا على دعمها المستمر ودورها في إغاثة الفلسطينيين وأعلن سمو الأمير في يناير 2009 عن تبرع الكويت ب34 مليون دولار لتغطية احتياجات وكالة غوث وتشغيل اللاجئين الفلسطينيين (الأونروا) إيمانا منه بالدور الإنساني للوكالة ولمواجهة الحاجات العاجلة للأشقاء الفلسطينيين.

    وفي شهر مارس 2009 أعلنت الكويت عن تبرعها ب200 مليون دولار للسلطة الفلسطينية للسنوات الخمس التالية من خلال برنامج اعادة إعمار غزة كما سبق للكويت أن أبدت التزامها بدفع 300 مليون دولار أمريكي لدعم السلطة الفلسطينية أثناء مؤتمر المانحين الذي عقد في العاصمة الفرنسية باريس في ديسمبر 2007.

    ووقعت الكويت في نوفمبر 2012 اتفاقية مع البنك الدولي تساهم بموجبها بمبلغ 50 مليون دولار لدعم البرنامج الفلسطيني الحالي للاصلاح والتنمية في البنك الدولي وفي يوليو الماضي أعلنت دولة الكويت عن تبرعها بملبغ 10 ملايين دولار لمساعدة الفلسطينيين.

    وسارعت دولة الكويت إلى إغاثة الدول المنكوبة التي تعرضت إلى كوارث طبيعية حين ضرب إعصار (سيدر) جمهورية بنغلاديش في نوفمبر 2007 وتسبب في قتل وجرح آلاف الأشخاص وبتوجيهات سمو أمير البلاد بالتبرع بمبلغ 10 ملايين دولار من دولة الكويت بصفة عاجلة لإغاثة بنغلاديش جراء تلك المأساة.

    وبعد تعرض اليابان إلى زلزال عنيف وتسونامي في مارس 2011 وجه سمو الأمير بالتبرع لها بخمسة ملايين برميل من النفط الخام أي ما يعادل نحو 500 مليون دولار.

    وفي يوليو 2011 قررت الكويت ارسال مساعدات إغاثية الى الصومال بقيمة 10 ملايين دولار للمساعدة في التخفيف من آثار الجفاف والمجاعة الذي تعرضت لها الصومال.

    وساهمت الكويت في عام 2012 بمبلغ 250 ألف دولار لدعم ضحايا زلزال (فان) في تركيا وذلك من خلال صندوق الأمم المتحدة للطفولة (يونيسيف) لدعم الجهود الإنسانية التي يقدمها الصندوق لضحايا الزلزال.

    ومع بداية عام 2014 أعلنت الكويت عن تبرعها بمبلغ 10 ملايين دولار لمساعدة الشعب الفلبيني المتضرر من إعصار ( هايان) الذي ألحق دمارا واسعا في الفلبين.

    وقررت الكويت عند تفاقم أزمة فيروس (ايبولا) وانتشاره عالميا في اغسطس الماضي التبرع بمبلغ خمسة ملايين دولار لتمكين منظمة الصحة العالمية من التعامل مع أزمة انتشار الفيروس. (كونا)

 

English French