The Golden Jubilee
Of The Independence Of The
State Of Kuwait

 

  • Kuwait Story

19th June 1961 is considered as the actual date of Kuwait’s independence from Britain and entering a new phase of its history, through which it looks upon the horizons of the independent world and contributes in peace making and human civilization.

This day marked the signing by the Amir, the late Sheikh Abdulla Al Salem Al Sabah, the 11th ruler of Kuwait, named as the “father of independence” of the independence treaty with Sir George Middleton, the British commissioner for the Arabian Gulf, on behalf of his government, and canceling the agreement signed by Sheikh Mubarak Al Sabah, the 7th ruler of Kuwait, with Britain on 23 January 1899, to protect it against external ambitions.

Independence means the independence of the State and it independent structure, and undertaking its external mission without other guardianship. This has been attached int eh Independence Treaty.

The Independence Treaty stated the cancellation of 23 January 1899 treaty, as it contradicted with the sovereignty and independence of Kuwait. Article two stipulates continuation of relationship between both countries with the spirit of close friendship. The most prominent aspects of 1961 independence treaty is the third paragraph which stipulates that nothing in these results will affect the readiness of the government of her majesty in assisting the government of Kuwait, if the government of Kuwait requested such assistance.

Upon declaring the independence, the late Amir, His Highness Sheikh Abdulla Al Salem, may God have mercy on him, whose rule extended from 1950 to 1965, delivered a speech on this occasion in which he said :

“On this enticing day of our beloved nation, on which we transfer from one phase to another phase of history and fold another page of the past with all its components and contents, to open a new page represented in this treaty which you read now, whereby Kuwait gained its full independence and sovereignty.

On this day, the heart is full of happiness with shining smiles on the faces, we raise our eyes with humbleness to the Almighty God to praise and thank Him for His blessing bestowed on us.

The close cooperation between the government, represented by the officials from the ruling family and the faithful people, is a beautiful meaning which diffused happiness and applause in myself, making me wish that such good cooperation will continue, with everlasting progress and prosperity. I would like to point here to the good spirit which prevailed over.

The negotiations and record for the friendly British side for their magnanimous spirit, proper understanding of matters and sincere wish to reach an understanding, which eased reaching the desired objective and confirmed its content from the beginning.

At the end, while we are approaching a new era, we hope that Kuwait would start its beginning by reinforcing ties of friendship and fraternity with its Arab sister countries, in order to work with solidarity and compassion for the goodness of the Arabs and realize the wishes of the Arab nation. Further, the new situation requir4es us to work towards membership in the Arab League, United Nations organization and other organizations working for the goodness, safety and security of the world, whenever possible. God help us.”

The new independence phase imposed upon the modern state structure to take legal, constitutional and diplomatic actions, the most prominent of which was replacing the country’s flag which was in red color with the word “Kuwait” in the middle, to the new flag. This step started with the enactment of law No.26 of 1961 for renewal of the flat form, specifications and the locations where it is to be hoisted.

On the level of constitutional procedures, the first step was crystallized on 26 August 1961 with the enactment of the Amiri Decree calling for conducting public elections for the constituent council to undertake, upon its composition, drafting the country’s constitution. Within nine months, the council finalized the draft constitution of the State of Kuwait, consisting of 183 articles, which was submitted to His Highness Sheikh Abdulla Al Salem Al Sabah, who ratified and passed the same on 11 November 1962.

On 23 January 1962, in implementation of the provisions of the constitution, the first parliamentary elections in the modern history of Kuwait were organized to elect fifty representatives to represent ten constituencies.

On 29 January 1963, the late Sheikh Abdulla Al Salem Al Sabah opened the first National Assembly in Kuwait’s history.

Kuwait’s independence marked a new phase for its entry as part of the international community countries, according to a special Kuwaiti policy, the elements of which  are to strive towards peach and establish cooperation with the various world countries, as part of the relationship of brotherhood and friendship with the countries and nations.

On the diplomatic field, the first step was represented in establishing the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, in order to carry out its entrusted role. On 19 August 1961, the Amiri Decree No.13 was enacted for establishing the foreign affairs department to be concerned alone with assuming the foreign affairs of the country. The second article of the decree stated the merging of the Government of Kuwait’s secretariat in the foreign affairs department, which was transferred on the first cabinet composition into the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Following the enactment of the decree establishing the department, an Amiri decree was passed for the appointment of the first head of foreign affairs on the date of Kuwait’s independence, on 3 October 1961, whereby Sheikh Sabah al Salem al Sabah was appointed as head of the foreign affairs, then minister of foreign affairs in the first cabinet on 17 January 1962, followed by His Highness the Amir of Kuwait, Sheikh Sabah al Ahmad Al Sabah who was appointed the minister of foreign affairs in the second cabinet, issued on 28 January 1963.

Following its independence, Kuwait submitted an application for membership in the Arab League, whereby the League board organized a meeting on 16 July 1961 and passed a decree for accepting it as a member besides its sister Arab countries.

On 30 November 1961, the international Security Council considered Kuwait’s request to join the UN membership. On 14 May 1962, Kuwait’s joining of the international organization was approved, to become the 111th member. Further, Kuwait participated in the international organizations of the UN, such as the World Health Organization, Food and Agricultural Organization (FAO), UNESCO, World Bank and the International Labor Organization.  It worked hard through its international activity to support Arab issues in general, including the Palestinian issue.

In 1963, a decree was enacted for merging the National Day with the assumption of the rule Day on 25th February, the anniversary of Sheikh Abdulla Al Salem Al Sabah’s assumption of the rule in Kuwait in 1950.


Sheikh Abdulla Al Salem Sabah, named as the father of independence, passed away on Wednesday, 24th November 1965.

 


عربي French

ذكرى مرور 50 عاما على استقلال الكويت

 

  • قصة الاستقلال

يعتبر يوم 19 يونيو من عام 1961 هو التاريخ الحقيقي لاستقلال الكويت عن بريطانيا ودخولها مرحلة جديدة من تاريخها لتطل من خلاله على أفق العالم المستقل ولتساهم في صنع السلام وحضارة الإنسان .

 

ففي ذلك اليوم وقع الأمير الراحل الشيخ عبدالله السالم الصباح الحاكم ال11 للكويت و الملقب ب" أبو الاستقلال " وثيقة الاستقلال مع السير جورج ميدلتن المندوب السامي البريطاني فى الخليج العربي نيابة عن حكومته وإلغاء الاتفاقية التي وقعها الشيخ مبارك الصباح الحاكم السابع للكويت مع بريطانيا في 23 يناير عام 1899 لحمايتها من الأطماع الخارجية .

 

والاستقلال يعني حرية الدولة وكيانها المستقل والقيام برسالتها الخارجية من دون وصاية أخرى.. وهذا ما تحقق في معاهدة الاستقلال .

 

وقد نصت اتفاقية الاستقلال على إلغاء اتفاقية 23 يناير 1899 لكونها تتنافى مع سيادة واستقلال الكويت - والمادة الثانية تنص على استمرار العلاقات بين البلدين مسيرة بروح الصداقة الوثيقة. ولعل ابرز ما في معاهدة 1961 الخاصة بالاستقلال الفقرة الثالثة التي تنص على انه لا شيء في هذه النتائج سيؤثر على استعداد حكومة صاحبة الجلالة في مساعدة حكومة الكويت إذا طلبت حكومة الكويت مثل هذه المساعدة.

 

وعند إعلان الاستقلال ألقى الأمير الراحل سمو الشيخ عبدالله السالم الصباح – طيب الله ثراه - الذي امتدت فترة حكمه من عام 1950 الى عام 1965 خطابا في تلك المناسبة قال فيه :

 

" في هذا اليوم الأغر من أيام وطننا المحبوب، في هذا اليوم الذي ننتقل فيه من مرحلة الى مرحلة أخرى من مراحل التاريخ، ونطوي مع انبلاج صبحه صفحة من الماضي بكل ما تحمله وما انطوت عليه لنفتح صفحة جديدة تتمثل في هذه الاتفاقية التي تقرؤونها الآن، والتي نالت بموجبها الكويت استقلالها التام وسيادتها الكاملة، في هذا اليوم والسرور يملأ الجوانح والابتسامات المشرقة تعلو الوجوه، نرفع أبصارنا بخشوع الى المولى عز وجل لنحمده سبحانه ونشكره على ما وفقنا إليه وانعم علينا به، ولقد كان التعاون الوثيق بين الحكومة ممثلة في المسئولين من أبناء الأسرة الحاكمة وبين الشعب المخلص من المغزى الجميل ما أشاع الغبطة والاستحسان في نفسي وجعلني أتمنى استمرار مثل هذا التعاون الخير ودوام تقدمه وازدهاره .



ولا يفوتني هنا أن انوه بالروح الطيبة التي سادت المباحثات وان أسجل للجانب البريطاني الصديق ما تحلى به من رحابة الصدر وحسن التفهم للأمور والرغبة الصادقة في التفاهم بما جعل الوصول الى الغاية المنشودة في سهولة ويسر مؤكداً مضموناً منذ البداية .



وختاماً فإننا نرجو ونحن على أبواب عهد جديد أن تبدأ الكويت انطلاقها بتقوية أواصر الصداقة والأخوة مع شقيقاتها الدول العربية للعمل بتكاتف وتآزر على ما فيه خير العرب وتحقيق أماني الأمة العربية، كما أن الوضع الجديد يتطلب منا العمل على الانتماء للجامعة العربية وهيئة الأمم المتحدة وغيرهما من المنظمات التي تعمل لخير العالم وأمنه وسلامته كل ما كان في ذلك من الإمكان والله ولي التوفيق
" .

 

و قد فرضت المرحلة الجديدة للاستقلال بناء الدولة الحديثة إلى اتخاذ إجراءات قانونية ودستورية ودبلوماسية ، أبرزها استبدال علم البلاد الذي كان باللون الأحمر تتوسطه كلمة «كويت» إلى العلم الجديد، وبدأت تلك الخطوة بصدور القانون رقم 26 لعام 1961، بتجديد شكل العلم ومواصفاته والأماكن التي يرفع فيها.

 

أما  على صعيد الإجراءات الدستورية ،  كانت الخطوة الأولى والتي جاءت فى 26 أغسطس عام 1961 بصدور مرسوم أميري يدعو إلى إجراء انتخابات عامة لمجلس تأسيسي يتولى عند تأليفه إعداد دستور للبلاد ، وخلال تسعة أشهر أنجز المجلس مشروع دستور دولة الكويت الذي يتكون من 183 مادة ، وقدم لسمو الشيخ عبدالله السالم الصباح الذي صادق عليه وأصدره فى 11 نوفمبر 1962.

 

وفي 23 يناير 1962 م أجريت تنفيذاًلأحكام الدستور أول انتخابـــات نيـــابية في تاريخ الكويت الحديث لاختيار خمسين نائبًا يمثلون عشر دوائر انتخابية.

 

وفي 29 يناير سنة 1963 افتتح المغفور له الشيخ عبد الله السالم الصباح أول مجــــلس للأمة في تاريخ الكويت.

 

 وكان استقلال الكويت بداية مرحلة جديدة لدخولها ضمن بلدان المجتمع الدولي وفق سياسة كويتية خاصة أركانها السعي إلى السلام وتحقيق التعاون مع مختلف دول العالم ضمن إطار علاقات الإخوة والصداقة بين الدول والشعوب .

 

و  على الصعيد الدبلوماسي فقد كانت الخطوة الأولى  إنشاء وزارة الخارجية لتقوم بدورها المنوط بها فصدر في 19 أغسطس عام 1961 مرسوم أميري رقمه (13) يقضي بإنشاء دائرة للخارجية تختص دون غيرها بالقيام بالشؤون الخارجية للدولة ونص المرسوم في مادته الثانية على دمج سكرتارية حكومة الكويت بدائرة الخارجية التي تحولت في أول تشكيل وزاري إلى وزارة الخارجية .

 

وبعد صدور مرسوم إنشاء الدائرة صدر مرسوم أميري بتعيين أول رئيس للخارجية فى تاريخ استقلال الكويت بتاريخ 3 أكتوبر عام 1961 حيث تم تعيين الشيخ صباح السالم الصباح رئيسا للخارجية ثم وزيرا للخارجية فى أول تشكيل وزاري بتاريخ 17 يناير عام 1962 وأعقبه سمو أمير البلاد الشيخ صباح الأحمد الجابر الصباح الذي أصبح وزيرا للخارجية بالتشكيل الوزاري الثاني الصادر فى 28 يناير عام 1963.

 

وقدمت الكويت بعد استقلالها طلبا لعضوية جامعة الدول العربية حيث عقد مجلس الجامعة اجتماعا بتاريخ 16 يوليو عام 1961 واصدر قرارا بقبولها عضوا إلى جانب شقيقاتها الدول العربية .

 

وفى 30 نوفمبر عام 1961 بدأ مجلس الأمن الدولي النظر في طلب الكويت الانضمام إلى عضوية الأمم المتحدة ، وفى 14 مايو عام 1963 تمت الموافقة على انضمام الكويت الى هذه المنظمة الدولية ، لتصبح العضو ال111 ، كما شاركت الكويت  في المنظمات الدولية التابعة لها كمنظمة الصحة العالمية ، ومنظمة الأغذية والزراعة ( الفاو ) واليونسكو ، والبنك الدولي ، ومنظمة العمل الدولية ، وعملت جاهدة من خلال نشاطها الدولي على نصرة القضايا العربية بعامة ومن بينها القضية الفلسطينية ..

 

وفى عام 1963 صدر مرسوم بدمج العيد الوطني بعيد الجلوس الموافق 25 فبراير وهو ذكرى تسلم الشيخ عبدالله السالم الصباح مقاليد الحكم فى الكويت عام 1950 .

 

و قد انتقل الشيخ عبدالله السالم الصباح الملقب بأبو الاستقلال إلى رحمة الله تعالى يوم الأربعاء 24 نوفمبر 1965.


English French