The 20th Anniversary Of the
Liberation Of The State Of Kuwait

 

  • Invasion of Kuwait

The crisis started on the 2nd of August 1990 when big units of Saddam’s army crossed the Kuwaiti borders and occupied Kuwait for seven months. The international Security Council has condemned in consensus since the beginning of the aggression the invasion of Kuwait by Saddam’s forces.Resolution No.660, passed by the council called upon Saddam’s regime to withdraw without condition or restriction and start negotiations immediately between both countries. However, this resolution was rejected by Saddam’s regime.

The invasion crisis indicated the extent of the Kuwaiti people’s cohesion and resistance to the occupation and defending their country, whether those inside or outside Kuwait, as well as adhering to their government and legitimate leadership. There is no bargaining or negotiation on the sovereignty and independence of Kuwait and safety of its lands. This cohesion and unity raised the admiration of the entire world.

  • Liberation of Kuwait

On 17 January 1991, the second Gulf War broke out between the forces of Saddam’s regime and the international alliance forces consisting of 34 international forces led by the United States of America, through the use of Saudi lands, leading to the victory of the allied forces and liberation of the State of Kuwait on 26 February 1991. Prior to its withdrawal from Kuwait, the former regime burned down Kuwaiti oil wells, causing one of the biggest environmental crises in the world.


  • Post liberation and reconstruction phase

Following liberation, the former Iraqi regime approved the international Security Council resolutions related to Kuwait’s invasion and its consequences. When the Kuwaiti administration returned to its country after its liberation, it has laid down and implementing a comprehensive plan for the reconstruction of Kuwait, the majority of which was destroyed and its infrastructure was almost paralyzed.

On these days twenty years ago, the liberation war of Kuwait ended. The State of Kuwait restored its freedom, thanks to the solidarity of its people primarily and their cohesion against the occupation, as well as refusing to dealt with its authorities and representatives directly and indirectly. A basic role for reaching the independence day was the world’s movement to support the State of Kuwait after discovering that its people refused the occupation absolutely and that the ruling family, represented at that time by His Highness the Amir, Sheikh Jaber Al Ahmad Al Jaber Al Sabah and His Highness the Crown Prince, Sheikh Saad Al Abdulla Al Salem Al Sabah, may God have mercy on them, as well as His Highness the Amir, Sheikh Sabah Al Ahmad Al Jaber Al Sabah, who was the minister of foreign affairs at that time, and their readiness to sacrifice the dear and cheap for the sake of Kuwait and its people in order to regain freedom, sovereignty, independence and welfare for the country’s citizens.

 


عربي French

مرور 20 عام على التحرير

 

  • غزو الكويت

بدأت محنة الثاني من أغسطس 1990 عندما قامت وحدات كبيرة من الجيش الصدامي بعبور الحدود الكويتية  و احتلال الكويت لمدة 7 أشهر ، و قد أدان مجلس الأمن الدولي بالإجماع منذ بدء العدوان غزو القوات الصدامية للكويت وطالب القرار رقم 660 الذي أصدره المجلس نظام صدام  بالانسحاب دون قيد أو شرط ، و بدء المفاوضات فورا بين البلدين إلا إن هذا القرار قوبل بالرفض من قبل نظام صدام .

و قد أبرزت محنة الغزو مدى تماسك الشعب الكويتي وصموده ومقاومته للاحتلال والدفـــاع عن بلاده ، سواء من كان في داخل الكويت أو خارجها ، الى جانب التفافـه حول حكومته وقيادته الشرعية ، فلا مساومة ولا تفاوض على سيادة الكويت واستقلالها وسلامة أراضيها ،  وهذا التماسك والوحدة أثارا إعجاب العالم بأسره.

  • تحرير الكويت

في 17 يناير 1991 ،  قامت حرب الخليج الثانية بين قوات نظام صدام  و قوات تحالف دولي من 34 دولية بقيادة الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية عن طريق استخدام أراضي المملكة العربية السعودية ، و التي  أسفرت عن انتصار قوات التحالف وتحرير دولة الكويت في يوم 26 فبراير 1991. و قد قام النظام البائد ، قبيل انسحابه من الكويت ، بحرق آبار البترول الكويتية مسبباً واحدة من أكبر الكوارث البيئية في العالم .


  • مرحلة ما بعد التحرير و إعادة الاعمار

وافق النظام العراقي البائد بعد التحرير على قرارات مجلس الأمن الدولي المتعلقة بغزو الكويت وما ترتب عليه من تبعات..وعندما عادت الإدارة الكويتية الى وطنها بعد تمام تحريره ، وضعت ونفذت خطة شاملة لإعادة إعمار الكويت التي كانت مدمرة في معظمها وبنيتها الأساسية شبه مشلولة .


في مثل هذه الأيام قبل عشرين عاماً انتهت حرب تحرير الكويت. استعادت دولة الكويت حريتها بفضل تضامن شعبها مع نفسه أولاً وتماسكه في مواجهة الاحتلال ورفضه التعاطي مع سلطاته ومع ممثليه بطريقة مباشرة أو غير مباشرة، وما لعب دوراً أساسياً في الوصول إلى يوم التحرير، تحرك العالم لدعم دولة الكويت بعدما اكتشف أن شعبها يرفض الاحتلال رفضاً قاطعاً، وأن العائلة الحاكمة ممثلة وقتذاك بالأمير سمو الشيخ جابر الأحمد الجابر الصباح  و سمو ولي العهد الشيخ سعد العبدالله السالم الصباح، رحمهما الله، و حضرة صاحب السمو الشيخ صباح الأحمد الجابر الصباح ، وزير الخارجية آنذاك ، على استعداد لبذل الغالي والرخيص من أجل الكويت وشعبها، ومن أجل استعادة الحرية والسيادة والاستقلال والرفاه لمواطني الدولة.


English French