The Initiative of His Highness the Amir of Kuwait
for Supporting the Syrian People

During the meetings of the 33rd secession of the leaders of the GCC for Kuwait hosting of the First International Humanitarian Pledging Conference for Syria, held in the end of January, the initiative of His Highness the Amir of Kuwait received a great deal of national and international welcome, due to its great importance while the Syrian people suffer very complicated living circumstances, due to the fight between the Syrian regime and the armed opposition, and because of the destruction and sabotage suffered by this Arab country, the depletion of resources and lives, which all require concerted efforts to relieve Syrian children and women.

The Higher Council of the GCC Leaders expressed its appreciation for the response of the State of Kuwait to hold the conference therein.

The UN Secretary, Pan K-moon expressed his gratitude to Kuwait for its approval of hosting the Pledging Conference for providing the humanitarian needs of the Syrian people, and its latest generous pledge to grant US$ 20 million to Syria.

The Kuwaiti initiative of hosting the International Humanitarian Pledging Conference for Syria is but a ring in a continuous chain of humanitarian works performed by the State of Kuwait for the interest of its Arab and Muslim brothers. Since the commencement of the Syrian crises before 22 months, the Kuwaiti aids never stopped, neither on the official nor on the popular level.

The first International Humanitarian Pledging Conference, for which Kuwait has finalized all preparations, shall be the beginning for a series of following conferences for aiding the Syrian people till it restores its security and stability, and till Syrian restores its position and role in the common Arab work.

If the State of Kuwait anticipates the success of this conference, and shall be glad to have it achieve all its objectives and provide the Syrian brothers with enough support and aid to assist them against severe cold, and bitter hunger, its ultimate happiness will be fulfilled when this crises come to an end, and when the efforts of the UN and Arab Countries envoy Lakhdar Brahimi succeed in reaching a peaceful solution that avoids Syria and its people killing, destruction and ruin.

عربي French

حظيت المبادرة التي أعلنها حضرة صاحب السمو أمير البلاد الشيخ صباح الأحمد الجابر الصباح حفظه الله و رعاه خلال اجتماعات الدورة 33 للمجلس الأعلى لقادة دول مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية لاستضافة الكويت للمؤتمر الدولي الأول لمانحي سورية في نهاية يناير بترحيب عربي ودولي كبيرين ، نظراً لأهميته الكبيرة في هذا الوقت الذي يعاني فيه الشعب السوري من ظروف معيشية بالغة السوء و التعقيد , بسبب القتال الدائر بين قوات النظام السوري و المعارضة المسلحة وما لحق من خراب ودمار للبلد العربي و استنزاف للموارد و الارواح تستدعي تضافر المجتمع الدولي لإغاثة الاطفال و النساء السوريين.

وقد عبر المجلس الأعلى لقادة دول مجلس التعاون عن تقديره لاستجابة الكويت لطلب الأمم المتحدة بعقد المؤتمر على أراضيها.

وأعرب الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة بان كي مون عن امتنانه للكويت لموافقتها على استضافة مؤتمر المانحين لتوفير احتياجات الشعب السوري الإنسانية وتعهدها السخي الأخير بمنح 20 مليون دولار لسورية.

إن مبادرة الكويت باستضافة مؤتمر المانحين للشعب السوري ماهي الا حلقة في سلسلة متصلة من الاعمال الانسانية التي تقوم بها دولة الكويت من اجل أشقائها العرب و المسلمين. فمنذ بداية الأزمة السورية قبل 22 شهراً و المساعدات الكويتية لم تنقطع يوماً , سواء على الصعيد الرسمي او الشعبي.

إن مؤتمر المانحين الدولي الاول للشعب السوري الذي اكملت الحكومة الكويتية استعداداته سيكون بداية لمؤتمرات متتالية لدعم الشعب الشقيق حتى يسترد أمنه و استقراره وتستعيد سورية مكانتها ودورها في العمل العربي المشترك.

وإذا كانت دولة الكويت تتطلع الى نجاح هذا المؤتمر ويسعدها ان يحقق المؤتمر كل غاياته ويقدم للإخوة السوريين المدد و العون الكافي الذي يعينهم على قسوة البرد القارس و مرارة الجوع , فإن سعادتها الكبرى تكتمل حينما تزول هذه الغمة و توفق جهود مبعوث الأمم المتحدة و الجامعة العربية الأخضر الابراهيمي في التوصل الى حل سلمي يجنب سورية و شعبها الشقيق القتل و الدمار والخراب.

English French